Page 1 of 1

Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:37 am
by mitchel
Hi:

Once my porting is done I read that I have to disconnect some wires coming into the house from Qwest...does anyone have some tips or photos so I know what to disconnect?

Thanks!

Mitch

Re: Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:21 am
by lbmofo
If your NIB looks like this, just unplug the modular plug.

viewtopic.php?t=10553#p73176

Re: Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:40 am
by southsound
To add a little to what lbmofo said, If you are using DSL for your Internet connection, you may need to leave the connection for your DSL modem. We can tell you more about that if you are or will be using DSL. If you are using cable Internet, then unplugging the little modular cord is the best way to accomplish what you want to do.

Re: Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:41 pm
by mitchel
Thanks for the info...I am on Comcast for my Internet service so I should be good to go!

Mitch

Re: Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:22 pm
by southsound
Great! And pardon us for not saying before, "Welcome to ooma and to the forums! There are a lot of great people here who love to help.

Re: Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:30 pm
by mitchel
Thanks southsound! I was very impressed by how fast my question was answered.

I love being a Joomla member and look forward to shutting down Qwest/saving money as soon as my number is ported.

Mitch