Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
mitchel
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:33 am

Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Post by mitchel » Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:37 am

Hi:

Once my porting is done I read that I have to disconnect some wires coming into the house from Qwest...does anyone have some tips or photos so I know what to disconnect?

Thanks!

Mitch

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Post by lbmofo » Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:21 am

If your NIB looks like this, just unplug the modular plug.

viewtopic.php?t=10553#p73176
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Post by southsound » Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:40 am

To add a little to what lbmofo said, If you are using DSL for your Internet connection, you may need to leave the connection for your DSL modem. We can tell you more about that if you are or will be using DSL. If you are using cable Internet, then unplugging the little modular cord is the best way to accomplish what you want to do.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

mitchel
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:33 am

Re: Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Post by mitchel » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:41 pm

Thanks for the info...I am on Comcast for my Internet service so I should be good to go!

Mitch

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Post by southsound » Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:22 pm

Great! And pardon us for not saying before, "Welcome to ooma and to the forums! There are a lot of great people here who love to help.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

mitchel
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:33 am

Re: Disconnect which Qwest wires?

Post by mitchel » Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:30 pm

Thanks southsound! I was very impressed by how fast my question was answered.

I love being a Joomla member and look forward to shutting down Qwest/saving money as soon as my number is ported.

Mitch

Post Reply