Scout remote from hub & scout distributes dial tone

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
marcaronson408
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:34 am

Scout remote from hub & scout distributes dial tone

Post by marcaronson408 » Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:49 pm

I want to set up my scout so that it is remote from the hub and provides dial tone to all of my existing landline jacks. Based on reading everything, I believe the following would work, but I would appreciate someone double-checking me to make sure I don’t cause any damage. Note that my house wiring has all 4 wires connected at all of the jacks:

1. Disconnect the house wiring from the telephone company’s external wiring.
2. Connect the hub’s “wall” port to “line2” of a 2-line splitter that is connected to a wall jack.
3. Connect the scout’s “wall” port to “line 2” of a 2-line splitter that is connected to a wall jack.
4. Connect the scout’s “phone” port to “line 1” of the same 2-line splitter.

At this point, I believe I should have dial tone available on all my wall jacks. Plugging any phone into a wall jack should give me dial tone as the phone, by default, will pick up the dial tone on “line 1”, but will not pick up the network signals that the hub & scout are exchanging on “line 2”.
Will this work? Thanks in advance for any help you can provide!

Marc

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Scout remote from hub & scout distributes dial tone

Post by lbmofo » Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:12 pm

I suppose your internet is Cable?

Yes, this will work.

However, you can also lose the L1, L2, L1+L2 splitters and just mix (combine using the duplex splitter that came with ooma) the "wall" port signal and the "phone" port dialtone and feedback into your wall jack. This way, any wall jack, you can either plug in a phone or a Scout.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

marcaronson408
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Scout remote from hub & scout distributes dial tone

Post by marcaronson408 » Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:39 pm

lbmofo wrote:I suppose your internet is Cable?

Yes, this will work.

However, you can also lose the L1, L2, L1+L2 splitters and just mix (combine using the duplex splitter that came with ooma) the "wall" port signal and the "phone" port dialtone and feedback into your wall jack. This way, any wall jack, you can either plug in a phone or a Scout.
lbmofo, thanks for helping me out yet again. My internet is cable, not DSL. If I understand correctly, you're saying that the network signals can be mixed with the telephony signals onto the same pair of wires without their interfering with each other. Am I understanding this properly? If so, I'm curious, how does that work?

Marc

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Scout remote from hub & scout distributes dial tone

Post by lbmofo » Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:17 pm

Yes, the digital HPNA signal just rides the dialtone/voice so they work fine mixed together.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

marcaronson408
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Scout remote from hub & scout distributes dial tone

Post by marcaronson408 » Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:08 am

lbmofo, I wired things up as you suggested and it works fine. The hub is upstairs & the scout is downstairs. I do not have any voice quality problems on the scout line -- I check in both directions.

Thanks again for your help -- you are clearly a tremendous asset on this forum!

Marc

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Scout remote from hub & scout distributes dial tone

Post by lbmofo » Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:19 am

Thanks and great to hear things are working out for you. If there are any voice quality issues with phones connected to your Scout, it would be outgoing voice. I haven't noticed much difference when I was testing leaving voice messages elsewhere on a landline account but sometimes, there would be some hints of break ups here and there.... but I really couldn't notice much of quality degradation with the Scout's phone port.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Scout remote from hub & scout distributes dial tone

Post by lbmofo » Fri Jan 28, 2011 7:41 pm

Heh?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

marcaronson408
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Scout remote from hub & scout distributes dial tone

Post by marcaronson408 » Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:19 pm

Looks like spam...

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Scout remote from hub & scout distributes dial tone

Post by southsound » Sat Jan 29, 2011 6:37 am

marcaronson408 wrote:Looks like spam...
Image

Ummmm, Spam!
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Scout remote from hub & scout distributes dial tone

Post by lbmofo » Sat Jan 29, 2011 8:57 am

McDonald's Hawaii offer rice and spam for breakfast. Yummy. Costco sells lots of them. Asians love this stuff.

McDonalds Spam, Portuguese, Omelete and Rice
spam_bigbreakfast.jpg
spam_bigbreakfast.jpg (57.53 KiB) Viewed 3802 times
[/size]
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply