Page 1 of 1

Connecting with cisco

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:15 pm
by Johnrhodes
What is the proper setup for connecting via a cox cable modem and a cisco model wrvs4400n v2? When I use the option 2 I cannot get connection to the Internet. Should I just use the home network off the hub to the router or the Internet to the router? Or is there another way and do I need to access the router via the Internet and setup something accordingly?

Re: Connecting with cisco

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:24 pm
by murphy
Connect the Ooma's Modem/internet port to a LAN port of the router.
Leave the Ooma Home port unused.
Once you make the connections and turn it on do not touch the box for an hour.
It will be downloading and installing the latest firmware.
Do you have a hub (white) or a Telo (black)?

Re: Connecting with cisco

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:07 pm
by Johnrhodes
Got it working thx. Black telo. Question. The ooma sign is not lit up though the phone works. Is that right? Also there is music for a dial tone on outbound calls. Again is that right? Thx

Re: Connecting with cisco

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:32 pm
by WayneDsr
Tap the "sun" key a few times, the dimmer is probably set to off or low.

Yes, the short ooma sound just before the dial tone lets you know the ooma network is being used for the call.

Wayne