disconnect from phone company wiring

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
jschmitt
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:56 am

disconnect from phone company wiring

Post by jschmitt » Tue Nov 30, 2010 9:31 am

I am trying to disconnect my phone company wiring from the phone wiring inside my house. The attached picture shows my telephone box on the side of my garage. I have not cut any of the wires that are shown. The box is the way it was when I opened it.

There is a rather thick black wire harness coming in the box, at the lower left corner (# 1)
There also are two gray phone wire harnesses (similar to the phone lines inside my house) coming in the box, about a third of the way from the left (# 2).

White wire (#4) is attached to a connector and then goes to gray wire harnesses (#2) mentioned above. It also is attached by a nut to another white wire that goes to a connector, and then continues to the black wire harness (#1) mentioned above.

Purple wire (#3) goes to a connector, and then turns blue and continues to gray wire harnesses #2 mentioned above. It also is attached by a nut to another blue wire that goes to a connector, and then continues to the black wire harness (#1) mentioned above.

There are also another gray wire and a white wire (#5) that comes from the black wire harness (#2) and go to two nuts on the right side of the box and terminate there.

My assumption is that the black wire harness (#1) is from the phone company, and the gray harnesses (#2) goes to my house. So I think that if I loosen the nut and disconnect the purple wire (#3) and loosen the nut and disconnect the white wire (#4), I will disconnect my house wires from the phone company. Are my assumptions correct?

I have searched the internet and found several pictures of phone boxes, but non of them even remotely looks like mine.
phone6_016.JPG
phone6_016.JPG (204.95 KiB) Viewed 6857 times

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: disconnect from phone company wiring

Post by hpepper » Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:28 am

Yes, your assumptions are all correct. Also, The two wires that go to the two nuts (#5) are for a second line and are not connected to your house.

User avatar
EricJRW
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Texas

Re: disconnect from phone company wiring

Post by EricJRW » Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:11 pm

Great post jschmitt. Very detailed.

I suspect, based on the quality of your post, that you know this already, but be sure to tape up those ends very well. I actually prefer to cut the exposed copper off the wires before I tape, but that's just me being careful. Also, it might be good to add a little sticker to the taped pair saying something like "Pair in use. Do not use!' just to make sure no one accidentally hooks it (back) up while your ooma device is still connected to the house wiring.
ooma hub with one scout (looking to add at least one more)
Premier Service (I was not expecting to do this, but I love the Premier features)
Panasonic KX-TG4024 (w/ 4 handsets)
Customer since November 2010
Internet access: FiOS 15/5

jschmitt
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:56 am

Re: disconnect from phone company wiring

Post by jschmitt » Wed Dec 01, 2010 1:33 pm

Thanks for the quick reply's. Its nice to have a little assurance before you start pulling wires.

jschmitt
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:56 am

Re: disconnect from phone company wiring

Post by jschmitt » Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:21 pm

OK, I disconnected the purple and white wire, but I get dial tones from my land line phones in the house (have not plugged OOMA into the house jacks yet). Just for the heck of it, I called my sons number, using the land line phone, and the call went through.

What is strange is that my old land line phone number is ported to ooma. When people call me, my ooma phone rings.

It seems that those wires I disconnected did not isolate my home phones from the phone company

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: disconnect from phone company wiring

Post by lbmofo » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:22 pm

That's strange.

But if I were you, I'd try:

Take all wires off of the bolt/nut terminals, cut the exposed copper leads off. Take the loose wires off too.

For the 2 gray wire bunches (#2), lose the purple and white wires including the connectors, cut any copper leads off.

Then, you'd have a neat looking box and your house wiring should be completely isolated from the telephone company.

If you still get a dialtone, you have another NIB or a VOIP device is feeding dialtone into your housewiring.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
EricJRW
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Texas

Re: disconnect from phone company wiring

Post by EricJRW » Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:14 am

I read another post somewhere that said certain areas are required to keep a dial-tone on the wire for calls to 911. Before you remove all the wires (that's what I'd do too) I'd see if you can make a call on that line and see if it works.

Removing all the wires should get the job done. if not, it is as lbmofo says... The dial-tone is coming in from somewhere else (that is pretty old looking equipment you have there).
ooma hub with one scout (looking to add at least one more)
Premier Service (I was not expecting to do this, but I love the Premier features)
Panasonic KX-TG4024 (w/ 4 handsets)
Customer since November 2010
Internet access: FiOS 15/5

User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: disconnect from phone company wiring

Post by highq » Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:49 am

jschmitt wrote:OK, I disconnected the purple and white wire, but I get dial tones from my land line phones in the house (have not plugged OOMA into the house jacks yet). Just for the heck of it, I called my sons number, using the land line phone, and the call went through.

What is strange is that my old land line phone number is ported to ooma. When people call me, my ooma phone rings.

It seems that those wires I disconnected did not isolate my home phones from the phone company
You might want to identify what number that is on that still-alive line. Just about all phone companies have some sort of ANAC (Automatic Number Announcement Circuit). Have a look at http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/ANAC

jschmitt
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:56 am

Re: disconnect from phone company wiring

Post by jschmitt » Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:09 pm

OOPS
I screwed up.
I guess the first rule should be to walk around your house and garage to locate ALL of the phone boxes.

I assumed the box by the garage was the only one, but I discovered a box on the house marked “Telephone Network Interface”. I opened the customer side and saw a phone wire plug. I pulled it, and that isolated the house phone circuit from the phone company. I now have ooma connected to house phone wiring.

There is a phone box on the garage because the garage has a phone plug, and it is on the same circuit as the house. In the days before cell phones, someone could answer the phone while working in the garage.

Anyways, thanks for all the help.

Sorry for the screw-up.

Post Reply