Porting Problems With Time Warner

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
gvaisey52
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:32 pm
Location: Rochester, NY * USA

Porting Problems With Time Warner

Post by gvaisey52 » Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:38 pm

Wondering if anyone else has had problems porting a line from Time Warner Cable (TWC) in Rochester NY?

I put my porting request in on October 30th but it came back with a porting problem contact carrier to release account. I called TWC and they claimed there was no line problems and nothing flagged. I have called OOMA Support and emailed them a few times. I have gotten limited responses and that they were checking on it.

If anyone can provide any help out in getting this completed, I be much appreciated!

--George
Last edited by gvaisey52 on Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Porting Problems With Time Warner

Post by lbmofo » Wed Nov 24, 2010 10:53 pm

Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

gvaisey52
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:32 pm
Location: Rochester, NY * USA

Re: Porting Problems With Time Warner

Post by gvaisey52 » Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:43 am

I have emailed that address and called customer support with the only response being "its being worked on, we'll update the web page status when we have time".

User avatar
EricJRW
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Porting Problems With Time Warner

Post by EricJRW » Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:16 pm

lbmofo wrote:https://www.ooma.com/support/knowledgeb ... d-messages

If you haven't emailed loa@ooma.com, I'd try that.
That list is an interesting read... Especially how stubborn Verizon is.
ooma hub with one scout (looking to add at least one more)
Premier Service (I was not expecting to do this, but I love the Premier features)
Panasonic KX-TG4024 (w/ 4 handsets)
Customer since November 2010
Internet access: FiOS 15/5

gvaisey52
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:32 pm
Location: Rochester, NY * USA

Re: Porting Problems With Time Warner

Post by gvaisey52 » Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:34 pm

I just recieved an update that Sprint is refusing to port due to a feature code no one can explain. Again, I have never had Sprint but Time Warner. I was offered the ability to cancel my port request and get a free handset which I took.

I'll do call forwarding to my new number and get everyone switched over to new number and then cancel the old account. Was really hoping to have the old number but that won't happen....

User avatar
EricJRW
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Porting Problems With Time Warner

Post by EricJRW » Tue Nov 30, 2010 3:04 pm

Seems in a situation like that you get the FCC involved. I'm happy my AT&T port seems to be going smoothly... Knock on wood. It's scheduled for 12/6, at which time I'll know for sure.
ooma hub with one scout (looking to add at least one more)
Premier Service (I was not expecting to do this, but I love the Premier features)
Panasonic KX-TG4024 (w/ 4 handsets)
Customer since November 2010
Internet access: FiOS 15/5

gvaisey52
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:32 pm
Location: Rochester, NY * USA

Re: Porting Problems With Time Warner

Post by gvaisey52 » Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:29 pm

EricJRW -

From what I've been told the FCC won't do anything because VOIP subscribers are not fully recognized providers. I've just decided to go with the free number that Ooma gave me. I just forwarded my old number from TWC to my Ooma number with no problems. I'll run this way until next week and then start telling family, friends and such about the new number.

I'm done dealing with TWC!!

Good luck with your port...

User avatar
EricJRW
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Porting Problems With Time Warner

Post by EricJRW » Mon Dec 06, 2010 6:48 am

Interesting about the FCC. So "VOIP subscribers are not fully recognized providers"? Yet we pay taxes (at least new users do). Seems if we are going to pay taxes we should be treated like anyone using a "recognized" provider.
ooma hub with one scout (looking to add at least one more)
Premier Service (I was not expecting to do this, but I love the Premier features)
Panasonic KX-TG4024 (w/ 4 handsets)
Customer since November 2010
Internet access: FiOS 15/5

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Porting Problems With Time Warner

Post by lbmofo » Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:13 am

VoIP carriers have to play by FCC rules as well when it comes to porting: http://www.fcc.gov/cgb/consumerfacts/voip.html
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
EricJRW
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Porting Problems With Time Warner

Post by EricJRW » Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:24 am

Good to know.
ooma hub with one scout (looking to add at least one more)
Premier Service (I was not expecting to do this, but I love the Premier features)
Panasonic KX-TG4024 (w/ 4 handsets)
Customer since November 2010
Internet access: FiOS 15/5

Post Reply