Adding to Blacklist

Have an Ooma Office question not covered by another forum? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
AverageJoe_MN
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 7:22 am

Adding to Blacklist

Post by AverageJoe_MN » Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:25 pm

Been trying to add a number and it won't allow it. It's telling me wrong format.

Examples they give are:

555-555-5555 or 5555555555

Tried both. Neither work.

What am I missing?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Adding to Blacklist

Post by lbmofo » Thu Jul 18, 2013 11:20 am

If you are still having issues, try a different browser such as Firefox.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

allo
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:58 am
Location: FL

Re: Adding to Blacklist

Post by allo » Fri Jul 19, 2013 8:00 am

Why can't we add directly to Blacklist a number from "VoiceMail/In Box"? ... like the set up in "Call Logs"?

Post Reply