Ooma Office Line Concept

Have a question about a specific feature? Post it here!
AppleTree
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 7:13 am

Ooma Office Line Concept

Post by AppleTree » Thu May 16, 2013 8:32 am

I currently have a Ooma Hub/Scout with two phone numbers.

I am interested in the Ooma Office due to the features. Has anyone migrated to Ooma Office yet? Is it possible to move my existing two numbers to Ooma office?

The pricing is unclear on Ooma Office as well.
Ooma Office (1 line, 1 number)) $19.99 per month
Additional Phone Line (includes 1 number) $19.99 per month per line
Additional Phone Number $9.99 per month per number

How much for two phone numbers per month? Is it $40 or $30?

Thanks!

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Scout/Hub to Ooma Office?

Post by lbmofo » Thu May 16, 2013 8:57 am

Each phone line = $19.99/mo
Each phone line comes with a phone number
Each additional phone number = $9.99/mo

$19.99/mo + $9.99/mo to get 1 phone line with 2 numbers.

"Each phone line can handle one simultaneous external incoming or outgoing telephone call. Depending on how busy your business is, you may purchase additional lines of capacity to ensure that you don’t miss any calls. Once you have used up your capacity of phone lines, incoming calls will receive a busy signal and outgoing calls cannot be placed. Ooma Office supports up to 10 phone lines, enough capacity for the busiest of businesses!"

Unless you have 2 phone lines, you can only have 1 phone conversation going on at a time.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

AppleTree
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 7:13 am

Re: Ooma Scout/Hub to Ooma Office?

Post by AppleTree » Sun May 19, 2013 6:23 am

Still having trouble with that answer.

Currently I have two phone numbers with Scout/Hub. One assigned to the scout and one to the hub.

I am having a trouble with their delineation between phone number and phone line.

Can anyone give me a more detailed response? Thanks.

murphy
Posts: 7176
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Scout/Hub to Ooma Office?

Post by murphy » Sun May 19, 2013 7:53 am

AppleTree wrote:Still having trouble with that answer.

Currently I have two phone numbers with Scout/Hub. One assigned to the scout and one to the hub.

I am having a trouble with their delineation between phone number and phone line.

Can anyone give me a more detailed response? Thanks.
The Office does not have the instant second line capability that you get with Premier on a Hub or a Telo.
In fact there is no concept of Premier with the Office.
It comes with one phone line. One phone call at a time.
If you need two simultaneous calls then you need a second phone line on the Office.

Each phone line comes with one phone number. You can have more than one phone number with one line but only one number can be in use at a time.

When a second line is added it comes with a second number.
Now it is possible to have two simultaneous calls in progress using a number for line 1 and the number for line 2.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Tuan
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:37 pm

Re: Ooma Scout/Hub to Ooma Office?

Post by Tuan » Sat May 25, 2013 9:48 am

The web page regarding the Office is misleading. I currently have 4 Linx adapters hooked up to the Office and can make 5 concurrent phone calls, while subscribing to only ONE phone number (ONE line).

The only time you'd need to subscribe to a 2nd line is that you want a DIRECT inbound extension to ring. For example, if you want to add a fax line, you'd want to subscribe to a 2nd number since you don't want other phones (extensions) to ring when someone is trying to fax you. The fax would have its own number, therefore only the fax would ring.

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 4330
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: Ooma Scout/Hub to Ooma Office?

Post by Tom » Sat May 25, 2013 2:10 pm

This is a bug. Trunk limits are not fully deployed yet.

Telo_BK
Posts: 187
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:10 pm

Re: Ooma Scout/Hub to Ooma Office?

Post by Telo_BK » Sat May 25, 2013 10:36 pm

Tom B wrote:This is a bug. Trunk limits are not fully deployed yet.
Kindly explain exactly what you mean by "This is a bug", and what will be practical effect when the bug is fixed, that is when "trunk limits... are fully deployed".

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Scout/Hub to Ooma Office?

Post by lbmofo » Sat May 25, 2013 10:43 pm

1 phone line = 1 concurrent phone conversation is currently not being enforced hence a bug.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Tuan
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:37 pm

Re: Ooma Scout/Hub to Ooma Office?

Post by Tuan » Sun May 26, 2013 9:12 am

Tom B wrote:This is a bug. Trunk limits are not fully deployed yet.
Even with unlimited trunks on the Office, I'm still hesitant to make the switch to the Office. One feature I use on the Telo everyday is the voicemail buttons. Because of this, I will probably integrate the Office and the Telo somehow, but I'll create another thread for it.

I don't see a comparison between the Telo and the Office, so I created one
Attachments
Office Telo Comparison.jpg
Office Telo Comparison.jpg (217.41 KiB) Viewed 9381 times

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 4330
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: Ooma Scout/Hub to Ooma Office?

Post by Tom » Sun May 26, 2013 10:03 am

A couple of comments:

- Ooma Office supports up to 10 lines (not 5)
- You can have up to 5 concurrent conversations using physical extensions (FXS + 4 Linx) [HD2 support is coming] *
- Any remaining lines can be used to make another outbound call by putting an existing call onhold or can be used
to set up inbound conversations using virtual extensions
- Extension dialing - see viewtopic.php?f=15&t=15858

- Telo does support ring groups
- Telo has no conferencing bridge, but does support 3-way conferencing

* physical means using CPE, so your own Ooma hardware (virtual is all in the cloud)

Post Reply