New user - My internet slows down when i hook up ooma

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.

New user - My internet slows down when i hook up ooma

Postby shankaras » Tue Sep 22, 2009 7:56 am

Hi,
I recently got ooma and waiting for the number to be ported. I already called AT&T asked them to split the DSL and phone line and they said they did it.
Here is how I initially setup my ooma.
Setup 1 -
Modem > ooma and Modem > router, i have staticIPs on my modem so i connected both ooma and router to the modem and here are the speed test results for speakeasy.net/seedtest
1. Before ooma hook up
D-6Mbps, U-600Kbps
2. After ooma hook up
D-900Kbps, U-500Kbps

I changed my ooma setup later
Setup 2 -
Modem > router > ooma
Seed test results
1. Before ooma hook up
D-6Mbps, U-600Kbps
2. After ooms hook up
D-900Kbps, U-500Kbps

I checked the QoS on the ooma hub, the upstream and downstream are set to 0(0 is disabled)
Can anyone please help me figure out why such a drop in bandwidth?
thanks
Last edited by shankaras on Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
shankaras
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 7:37 am

Re: New user - My internet slows down when i hook up ooma

Postby Aveamantium » Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:30 am

Speed reduction to the LAN is by design when Ooma is in front of the Router as it is allocating bandwidth to the Ooma to ensure proper Qos. For how to properly set this up please see the Qos setup in Ooma's Knowledgebase (well written).

However, you should not see any speed reduction (outside of the 40 kbps for the call) if you do not have any LAN devices behind your Ooma Hub (nothing is connected to the Home Port).
Last edited by Aveamantium on Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Go AVS!
User avatar
Aveamantium
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: New user - My internet slows down when i hook up ooma

Postby niknak » Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:48 am

shankaras wrote:Hi,
I recently got ooma and waiting for the number to be ported. I already called AT&T asked them to split the DSL and phone line and they said they did it.
Here is how I initially setup my ooma.
Setup 1 -
Modem > ooma and Modem > router, i have staticIPs on my modem so i connected both ooma and router to the modem and here are the speed test results for speakeasy.net/seedtest
1. Before ooma hook up
D-6Mbps, U-600Kbps
2. After ooma hook up
D-900Mbps, U-500Kbps

I changed my ooma setup later
Setup 2 -
Modem > router > ooma
Seed test results
1. Before ooma hook up
D-6Mbps, U-600Kbps
2. After ooms hook up
D-900Mbps, U-500Kbps


you must mean 900Kbps here
User avatar
niknak
 
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: New user - My internet slows down when i hook up ooma

Postby shankaras » Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:06 pm

niknak wrote:
shankaras wrote:Hi,
I recently got ooma and waiting for the number to be ported. I already called AT&T asked them to split the DSL and phone line and they said they did it.
Here is how I initially setup my ooma.
Setup 1 -
Modem > ooma and Modem > router, i have staticIPs on my modem so i connected both ooma and router to the modem and here are the speed test results for speakeasy.net/seedtest
1. Before ooma hook up
D-6Mbps, U-600Kbps
2. After ooma hook up
D-900Mbps, U-500Kbps

I changed my ooma setup later
Setup 2 -
Modem > router > ooma
Seed test results
1. Before ooma hook up
D-6Mbps, U-600Kbps
2. After ooms hook up
D-900Mbps, U-500Kbps


you must mean 900Kbps here

oops!! thanks for pointing out, yes it 900Kbps
shankaras
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 7:37 am

Re: New user - My internet slows down when i hook up ooma

Postby shankaras » Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:35 am

ok i called AT&T and their CS is a BS, their Internet Tech guy did not understand when i said i wanted my Phone and DSL on seperate lines. They actually thought i wanted seperate billing :). Anyways i called them again and finally i got someone who could understand me and now i am getting a dry loop dsl. So hopefully once i get that my problem might be solved ill keep you posted.
shankaras
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 7:37 am


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest